Story Plant paperback

ISBN: 978-1-61188-190-5

Fiction Studio Books e-book

ISBN: 978-1-943486-15-1

Publication date:  September 2, 2014

466 pages

“It’s really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They’re right. I did some extremely foolish things; I’m the first to say it. And they’ve left me in jail and alone.”


So begins one of the most compelling, emotionally charged, and affecting novels you are likely to read this year.
It is the summer of 1968 and a young man takes a job at a camp in upstate New York before starting his first semester at Columbia University. There, he meets Rachel Price, a fellow counselor who is as beautiful as she is haunted. Their romance will burn with a passion neither of them has ever known before…a passion with the power to destroy.


In the tradition of Endless Love and Gone Girl, What It Was Like is an intimate, raw, and revealing journey through the landscape of all-consuming love. It announces the debut of a remarkable storyteller.

 

What it Was Like 

Peter Seth

“I was the world’s rudest houseguest the weekend I brought along What It Was Like.”

- Kate Klimo, Author of The Dragon Keepers and The Dog Diaries

“A great beginning of a career for Peter Seth.”

- Literarily Illumined

"It's like Gone Girl meets Endless Love. A terrific story filled with fascinating characters."

– Ethan Cross, international best-selling author of The Shepherd


“My obsession with What it Was Like is identical to the one the story’s wry, intelligent, and completely unremorseful narrator has for the beautiful, sexually intoxicating and mesmerizing Rachel Prince, with whom he begins a romance that we know from the opening pages is ill-fated. Once I started reading, I had to finish the book as fast as I could. Reading What It Was Like made me experience all the joys – and dangers – of teenage lust with an immediacy that I haven’t felt since Splendor in the Grass.”
– Stan Chervin, Screenwriter, Academy Award nominee for Moneyball


What It Was Like is a story about all kinds of love – the obsessive first love of two unforgettable teenagers as well as the layers of love that can lie in tortuous wait between parents and children, a love as deep and hidden as an ominous quarry. If indeed you’ve ever wondered what kind of parents J.D. Salinger and Patricia Highsmith would have made if they had gotten together, then look no further than Peter Seth, their literary progeny.”
– Kevin Sessums, author of Mississippi Sissy and editor in chief  of FourTwoNine Magazine


“Not like anything else I have read, this stark and frightening tale will stay with me for some time to come.”
– Cayacosta 72


“Just when you think you know where the story is headed it changes directions. It’s a roller coaster ride to the very last page.”
– Book Bug


“Passionate, stark, haunted fiction that nails it on the head about young adult romance gone awry.”
– Crystal Book Reviews


“This is an outstanding book! BRAVO! What a story!”
– Laurie Carlson

Peter Seth is a writer living in Los Angeles. He has written for television shows produced by Gary David Goldberg (“Brooklyn Bridge”) and Glenn Gordon Caron (“Showroom”). He wrote, produced, and directed the award-winning short film Lunch with Louie, which appeared in more than thirty-five film festivals around the world. He was born in Brooklyn and raised on Long Island. What It Was Like is his first novel.